Update Stub Files

For files copied using the File Archive, Arcserve UDP leaves a stub file with the "UDP.txt" extension. The stub file contains information about the destination where the files were moved and some additional information. If a file is restored to the original location and then gets moved again to the specified destination, then the stub file is updated with this move information. If necessary, these file copy stub files can be safely disabled or deleted without any negative impact. (Existing stub files are not deleted when the registry key is changed to no longer create stub files).

The following information is present in the stub file by default:

Please contact your IT department to restore this file.

You can change the default text by adding a configuration entry. Add the following XML tag entry in the FileCopyDebugSetting.xml file from the $UDPHome\Engine\Configuration directory:

<ArchiveStubFileText> New Text can be added here to display in stub file

</ArchiveStubFileText>

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<HKLM>

<AFArchiveDLL>

<ArchiveStubFileText> New Text can be added here to display in stub file </ArchiveStubFileText>.

</AFArchiveDLL>

</HKLM>

If the FileCopyDebugSetting.xml file is not present under the $UDPHome\Engine\Configuration directory, create the XML file.

If you want to disable the stub file creation, add the following XML tag entry in the FileCopyDebugSetting.xml file from the $UDPHome\Engine\Configuration directory:

<CreateStubFile>0</CreateStubFile>

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<HKLM>

<AFArchiveDLL>

<CreateStubFile>0</CreateStubFile>

</AFArchiveDLL>

</HKLM>

Note: If you disable or delete the file copy stub files, you can no longer track the status and location of moved files.


Copyright © 2018. All rights reserved.

Rate This Page
The content on this page was useful to me. Disagree strongly Agree strongly
Submit rating and optional comments about this page